A LITTLE GLIMPS INTO ME PART ONE THE VERY EARLY YEARS

Hello,

I thought a great way to start off this blog would be to tell all of you a little bit about myself.  I know there is a lot to cover, so I decided to break it up into several parts.  I hope to one day turn all of this into a book.  This first installment will be about my early years, but before I get to that, let me tell you where I stand now.

My name is Brian Malaquias.  I am 37 years old.  I live in the city of Beverly, Massachusetts with my wife Sarah and my two amazing children, Ben and Emily.  My children are everything to me.  You will learn more about them in my Family section of this blog.  Beverly is a suburb of the great city of Boston.

Ben1Emily1Family1

I haven’t always lived in Beverly.  In fact, I was born in Marlboro Massachusetts, however, I don’t remember any of that part of my life due to the fact that my family moved to Ipswich Massachusetts shortly after I was born.  I did put a scare into my family when I had pneumonia when I was a few months old, but I was a fighter and battled through that, thank the Lord.  Now I know what you are thinking, when is he going to let us in on when he found about his Agenesis of the Corpus Callosum and how did he find out.  I will in due time,my friend, in due time.  Okay, I will give you then when now, and how later.  I didn’t find out about my A.C.C. until much later in life.  Looking back now, I always knew I was a little different, but I couldn’t put my finger on it.  More on that later.

My very early years:

Although I was born in Marlboro, Ipswich has always been my home.  I love the town, I love the north shore and I love New England.  Our house was a little light blue ranch right down the road from Cable Gardens.  Back when I lived there, it was a hospital.  In the winters we would trudge down to the big hill out in front of the hospital and go sledding.  I didn’t last long at all because I hated the cold.  In the summers, we would go have ice cream at the Parish House.  They also had a wonderful penny candy store there as well.

Crane-Beach

One of the big draws to Ipswich is Crane Beach.  It is a beautiful beach, but I never really liked it much.  Picking sand out of my ass and not knowing how to swim had a little to do with it, however the biggest reason was that I saw Jaws at a very early age.  I haven’t been in since.  Don’t get me wrong, Jaws is still one of my favorite movies even to this day. but I just stay out now.

I have an older sister named Nicole and a younger brother named Jason.  My dad is named Lou, and my mom is named Nancy.  They grew up on Portuguese Hill in Gloucester Massachusetts.  I’ll say more on them in future blogs.  Lets just say, we aren’t the Brady Bunch, but then again who is?

As a very young child, I liked it quiet, very quiet.  We lived on County Road which was 1A.  It is a main drag through Ipswich and big trucks would barrel down that road and I would wake up screaming.  When we would go to the Gloucester Horrible’s Parade, I would scream when the fire trucks would blare their horns or the revolutionary guys would fire blanks from their muskets.  Who would have thunk it that all these years later I am the loudest one around.  Just ask my wife, Sarah.

When I was still very young, it was discovered that I was born with flat feet.  This was probably the first time that I noticed, I wasn’t like the other kids out there.  I am not saying this is due to the A.C.C, it isn’t.  I have a hunch that it is due to something else.  Once again, I will write on that subject at a later date.  Man, I know, these cliff hangers must be killing you guys.

I never crawled as a kid.  What my mom said I did was I would role.  I went from rolling to walking, it just took a long time.  My mom would have my toys all scattered around the room I was in.  My mom was a very neat and organized person.  There is a reason for the mess of toys everywhere.  I would be sitting there playing with a toy, while watching Sesame Street, or Star Wars and get bored with the toy.  I would then get interested in another toy and go for that toy all the way across the room.  Once my rolling stopped I would be at a different toy all together, but my mom always said I was happy that I found a toy, not necessarily the one I was going after.

I had to have an operation on my feet to correct them.  Now way back when, this operation was pretty evasive, but it had to be done.  What they did was to carve out an arch for my feet and add a bone fragment from my knee to my foot to correct the feet.  It all worked out as I can walk and run fairly normal now, that is unless I get clumsy and my brain doesn’t respond all that well.  I do trip and fall rather easily.

Boston_Childrens_Hospital

Anyway, I had to go to Boston Children’s Hospital for the surgery.  The people there were great.  The food was bad, at least I remember it being bad, but the chocolate chip ice cream was terrific, and I had a room that I could watch the Red Sox on my TV and see the stadium out the window.  I remember feeling very nervous about the whole thing, but my mom was there the whole time.  They gave me a choice of flavors for the gas when they put you out.  I picked root beer.  The doctor said count to 10.  I think I made it to one.  Actually, it sounded more like woo.

Fenway

The next thing I knew I woke up and I couldn’t move my legs at all.  I tore off the sheets looked down and saw the casts.  They went from my feet all the way to my thighs.  I screamed for my mom and she came in to calm me down.  My mom has always been there for me.  I admit I am a total momma’s boy.  I believe all boys are.  Anyway, when I got home, I had to wear special shoes that were clamped together with two steel pieces.  I had to go to school on a special bus.  Yes, the heckling was awful.

Okay so that is it for this blog entry.  Check out the next installment of this series when I talk about learning to play drums and the beginning of school.  Until next time?

Brian

10 thoughts on “A LITTLE GLIMPS INTO ME PART ONE THE VERY EARLY YEARS

  1. Amy

    I am so interested in your memory issues. I have a son who has partial ACC and it’s hard to differentiate between normal 12 year old boy forgetfulness and what may be a real consequence of the way his brain functions. Also, it’s hard to tell because in addition to leaving coats, hats, mittens, shirts, you name it different places… if it’s something he is interested in or wants, he’s hyper- obsessive in his memory and reminds us of his want incessantly. Keep your blog coming!

    Reply
    1. brianmalaquiass Post author

      Yes, the brain is a wondrous thing that we really don’t know that much about. I wish I had the answer for you, but you will just have to take it in stride. Just be patient and always be supportive.

      Reply
  2. Alessandra Rigazzo

    Hello, Brian!
    I am a mother of João Miguel, a little boy of five years with ACC.
    I’m using Google translator to read your blog and leave this comment.
    I look forward to reading everything you have to say, it divulged your blog for Brazilian families.
    Thank you for sharing your life.
    A hug

    Reply
  3. j4c2002

    Reading about the early years makes me think of my 4 yr old. He has Complete ACC and Colophealy(? spelling ) Reading about you and not likeng loud noises makes me remember how we use to have at leave places if they became crowded. A trip to the grocery store was very rare until he was about 2 because he would scream and scream . Now at 4 he is an active child who can do everything and he is the loud one too 🙂 Thank you for sharing your story

    Reply
  4. Barb Borzecki

    Brian,
    We live in Newburyport! In fact yesterday we were boating near the Ipswich River and Plum Island Sound. I have a 20 year old son with ACC and I will share this site with him.

    Reply
    1. brianmalaquiass Post author

      Hi Barb,

      I like boating. My dad had a boat and we would go out all the time in the summer. Thanks for sharing the blog.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

