A RAY OF LIGHT AND INSPIRATION!

Hi Gang,

Okay, I want to say something right off the bat.  I have read through some of my old posts and I get it.  They seem a bit down, depressing, or angry at times.  There may be a good explanation for that.  I think it is just the time in my life that I am in right now.  I am older and a little wiser to how the world works.  I was completely sheltered as a kid.  I was brought up to think that everyone is nice and the world is great.  Well, we all know that is a lie.  Yes, human kind is thriving, and over all, people are good.  There are a whole lot of people who are mean, and do evil things.  Also, having A.C.C. and having a horrible self-image makes it tough to look at the good things in life at times.  I have my good days and my bad days just like all of you.  There is hope that things can be better.  One of my all time favorite movies is, “The Shawshank Redemption”,   I think Andy hits the nail right on the head for hope.

shawshank-redemptionAndy Dufresne: That’s the beauty of music. They can’t get that from you… Haven’t you ever felt that way about music?

Red: I played a mean harmonica as a younger man. Lost interest in it though. Didn’t make much sense in here.

Andy Dufresne: Here’s where it makes the most sense. You need it so you don’t forget.

Red: Forget?

Andy Dufresne: Forget that… there are places in this world that aren’t made out of stone. That there’s something inside… that they can’t get to, that they can’t touch. That’s yours.

Red: What’re you talking about?

Andy Dufresne: Hope.

Les-Brown-QuotesAbout four years ago, a very good friend of mine gave me a CD of Les Brown.  I was in a very dark place in my life and Larry knew it.  He told me to listen to the CD and really take in what Les was saying.  Well, it changed my outlook on so many things.  Now whenever I get down, I listen to his tapes, or go back to his quotes.  I have read a few of his books and they really help.

Here is the kicker, this isn’t an overnight thing.  You don’t wake up the next morning and feel happy all the time for eternity.  It takes work.  It is the same as someone needing to lose weight, or someone who wants to quit smoking.  You have to change your way of thinking every day.  With weight loss, you can’t just say I am going on the Atkins Diet.  You have to combine the diet with exercise.  It takes work.  When I quit smoking, I stopped hanging at this bar I use to frequent for three whole months.  People thought I dropped off the face of the planet.  This was before they banned smoking in bars and restaurants.  I knew if I went there, the smoke that billowed from the bar would make me want to smoke.  You may even have to make big changes like deciding some of the people you hang around with are bringing you down.  It is best to stay away from them.

I wanted to shLes-Brown-Quotes-1are this mans great works and looks on life so the next time you feel down and out, Les Brown may be there to lift you up.  I have included a link to his site, though I think it is under construction.  I have also listed a website where you can get his books.  Scroll all the way down to the bottom of the post for this information.

One last thing before I go.  Successful people aren’t so much born great.  Look at Les Brown.  He was born on the bare floor of a tenement project building and given away.  Thank God for Mamie Brown.  Listen to his CD’s and read his books.  You will find out what an amazing woman she was.  Les Brown is successful because he has a hunger and a drive.  He also did what great successful people do.  He started hanging out with other successful people.  Who we hang around with greatly affects our mood and outlook in life.  Hang around successful people, and you will find the road to success.  Until next time?

Brian Malaquias

Road

http://lesbrown.org/lesbrown.com/index.html

http://www.amazon.com/s?ie=UTF8&field-author=Les%20Brown&page=1&rh=n%3A283155%2Cp_27%3ALes%20Brown

Leave a comment